Back from break

Standard

Hey everyone! 

I hope y’all have enjoyed your Christmas break. It is so good to get to have some time off and make memories with our families, have a few adventures, and re-charge our spirits for the second semester. 

This year is flying by us! I feel like I blinked twice and the time between Thanksgiving Break and Christmas was gone. 

The second semester of kindergarten is a very exciting time. Your kiddos will become more confident in their abilities, they will begin using higher level thinking, their reading and writing will take off like never before, and they will surprise you everyday with their new skills. The first semester is about building a foundation. Now, we reach for the sky! I couldn’t be more excited to see the things we will accomplish together! First grade, here we come! 

This first week back, we will start out slow. The first couple weeks back to school are a bit of a transition. The kids will be tired and a little out of routine. Don’t worry, they will get back in the groove in no time! 

In ELA,  we will spend the week reviewing the diagraphs we have learned so far. I will add some flash cards to their sight word folder for them to practice. In math, we will pick up right where we left off. We will be focusing on patterns and start counting by 2’s. In science and social studies, we will be starting to learn about Winter. 

I have fixed an Internet issue that has been preventing me from being able to make more frequent blog posts!  So you can look forward to weekly or bi-weekly posts again! 

Some closing thoughts: 

  • As you transition back into your normal nightly homework routine, don’t be surprised if your child has a little bit of difficulty getting it done. It’s okay to ease back into it. Maybe do sight words one night, and read the next. We don’t want them completely frustrated and unmotivated at homework time. Let me know if your child is having issues with their homework, and I’ll do what I can to help.
  • On Thursday, January 14th we will be having our first Kindergarten Night to recruit kiddos for next year’s class. If you know of any upcoming kindergarteners, please pass on the news! Also, if you would like to write a testimonial about the kindergarten program for us to share at this meeting, let me know. Our program grows not because of commercials or advertisements, but because of people willing to share their stories with others:) 

Thank you so much for blessing me with your children! I can not wait to hug each and every one of them on Tuesday! 

Here are some pictures of some things we’ve done in the past few weeks (since I havnt been able to blog about them!). 





























Leave a comment